This Time, It’s Personal

This morning, I started my second set of personal training sessions with the famous Jason.  I realize that before I begin regaling you with another twelve weeks worth (yea, seriously) of athletic amusements, I first have to tell you about the massive bomb he dropped on me during our last morning together at the end of the first set of sessions.

We were finishing up the hour with lots of cardio drills.  As I sat wheezing between shuffles, I apologized for sucking wind.  Jason just shrugged and said, “Could be worse.  I could be making you do this with a brick in each hand.”

I quickly scanned the room for bricks.  None in sight.  I exhaled.  “Bricks in my hand?”

“Yep,” he said.  “That’s how I had to do it when I played college basketball.  From base line to base line, a brick in each hand.”

My arms started to ache just thinking about that.  I tried to think of something to say to that, when a light bulb went off.  “You played college basketball?”

“Two years,” he said.

Now, I don’t know anything about who’s who in college basketball, but I nevertheless asked.  “Where?”

“Lehigh.”

My breathing wasn’t ragged anymore.  It just stopped.  I stood up.  “You’ve got to be kidding.”

He laughed.  “No.  Why?”

I squared up my stance and placed a respectful hand over my heart.  “Lafayette College, Class of 2006,” I said.

I saw just a hint of surprise flash across his face, before he started smirking.  “Really…” he said.

We stared at each other.  Jason pointed to the blocks on the floor.

“Do it again,” he said.  “And faster.”

I got down in the starting position.  “It’s on now, tough guy.”

lehigh-hawk-clippedlafayette

~ T

Leave a Reply

