What I’m Reading: “The World Without Us” by Alan Weisman

I’m continuing to uphold that New Year’s resolution by pulling Alan Weisman’s The World Without Us, my third non-fiction selection of 2009, off of my shelf.

Weisman’s book details humanity’s impact on the environment and explores the wild ramifications of what would happen if one day we simply all disappeared.  Would future beings find hulking ruins of our sprawling cities?  Or would we be a geologic footnote, leaving little or no proof of our seemingly prolific existence?

Weisman’s book has inspired a whole line of documentaries on the Discovery, History, and Learning Channels.  I plan to read the book before I do any channel surfing.

worldwithout

~ T

Leave a Reply

