What I’m Reading: “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” by William Shakespeare

cartoon shakespeareMy latest selection is another attempt at broadening my literary intake.  True, it is fiction, but it’s not written in prose.  In addition to being a play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream may as well be written in a foreign language.  Yes, it’s in English, but not the English you and I speak.  Truth be told, I like the challenge.  I also like Shakespeare, so I hardly look on this as a chore.

I figure this is the perfect time to pick up a copy of one of the oldest, most durable rom-coms of all time.  With summer beginning, I opted for this rather unconventional beach read.  Oh, come on, you know that’s what it boils down to: desperate lovers, tangled webs of romance, over-the-top personalities, and a faulty aphrodisiac or two.  I may as well be picturing Sandra Bullock and Matthew McConaughey in my head as I read the damn thing.

The course of true love never did run smooth…

~ T

Leave a Reply

