What I’m Reading: “The Island of Dr. Moreau” by H.G. Wells

My next selection off the shelf is part of an attempt to experience some of the earliest modern popular science fiction.  I chose The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G Wells for a number of reasons.  First, I already knew the basics of the story, and it sounded like a great read.  Second, it has spawned at least three feature film adaptations, none terribly well received.  I suppose I’m morbidly curious to see what was so lost in translation.  Third, I wanted to read some sci-fi that wasn’t space opera.  As much as I love the latter, everyone needs a break once and a while from Shakespeare set among the stars.  Fourth, I was curious to see what wild inventions and speculation a writer at the turn of the twentieth century envisioned that may or may not be part of our reality today.

At press time, I’m about four chapters into the book already.  Had I had a fifth reason–wanting to read something that would keep me awake at night–I would have already met that goal.

As always, a review will be posted upon completion.

moreau

~ T

Leave a Reply

