Farewell to the Boys of Summer

In a sure sign that the best of times has passed us by, the 2011 baseball season came to an end last week.  I know, I barely noticed it myself.

I’m sorry, I don’t mean to sound bitter.  Sure, it was exciting that the World Series went the full seven games, particularly with the dramatic heights of Game Six.  But honestly, the St. Louis Cardinals and the Texas Rangers?  I wasn’t the only one underwhelmed.  The earlier games of the fall classic earned piddling ratings.  This was no great rivalry, no storied match-up with a history to elevate the stakes.  And call me crazy, but when a game between the two alleged best teams in baseball ends in a 16 – 7 rout, I question the veracity of those records.  Still, I tip my hat to Tony LaRussa and his Cards.  Despite being a fan of the winningest team in American sports, I appreciate when the hardware gets spread around.

So in my final baseball posting of the year, I thought we’d dip back into the archives and see how The Honestly Blog’s official baseball correspondent, Tripp, fared with his post-season picks:

Tripp’s Picks
AL East: Red Sox
AL Central: Twins
AL West: Rangers
AL Wild Card: Yankees

Final Division Standings
AL East: Yankees
AL: Central: Tigers
AL West: Rangers
AL Wild Card: Rays

Well, once again, Tripp sold my boys from the Bronx short.  It’s okay, you can’t hate him for being persistent.  The Red Sox and Tigers, though, proved to be the victims of epic collapse.  Is Tripp’s benediction now a curse to ball clubs?  Let’s see if he jinxed anyone in the National League…

Tripp’s Picks
NL East: Phillies
NL Central: Cardinals
NL West: Giants
NL Wild Card: Cubs

Final Division Standings
NL East: Phillies
NL Central: Brewers
NL West: Diamondbacks
NL Wild Card: Cardinals

Ever the optimist, Tripp picked the Cubbies to win the wild card.  In fact, they only finished ahead of the Astros, the most anemic team in baseball.  There wasn’t much doubt that the Phillies would reign supreme in the east, and Tripp had faith that the Cardinals would make it, one way or another.  Of course, his fantasy World Series for 2011 was the Twins defeating the Phils, which proved to be way off; but I give him credit for foreseeing that the Cards and Rangers would be fixtures of the post-season.

So, now we wait through winter’s dark and gloomy hours until spring training starts again, shortly after that wretched groundhog scrambles out of his hole to taunt me with six more weeks of suffering.  Until next time, baseball fans.  Stay warm around that hot stove.

~ T

P.S: I almost forgot!  This may not really be the last baseball post of the year.  I did find out earlier today that on November 20, Yours Truly will be playing in the third annual show biz softball game between casting directors and agents.  The Sharks are 0-2.  This is our year!  Watch out, CSA!

Leave a Reply

